Cherwell District Council

Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 16 July 2012 at 6.30 pm

Present: Councillor Colin Clarke (Chairman)

Councillor Lawrie Stratford (Vice-Chairman)

(in the Chair for Minute 26)

Councillor Ken Atack Councillor Alvas Ahmed Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Fred Blackwell Councillor Norman Bolster Councillor Ann Bonner Councillor Patrick Cartledge Councillor Margaret Cullip Councillor Surinder Dhesi Councillor John Donaldson Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards Councillor Tim Emptage Councillor Andrew Fulliames Councillor Michael Gibbard Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Alastair Milne Home

Councillor David Hughes

Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Melanie Magee Councillor Kieron Mallon Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor Jon O'Neill Councillor P A O'Sullivan Councillor George Parish

Councillor D M Pickford

Councillor Nigel Randall

Councillor G A Reynolds

Councillor Alaric Rose

Councillor Daniel Sames

Councillor Leslie F Sibley

Councillor Trevor Stevens

Councillor Rose Stratford

Councillor Lynda Thirzie Smart

Councillor Nicholas Turner Councillor Douglas Webb

Councillor Douglas Williamson

Councillor Barry Wood

Councillor Sean Woodcock

Apologies Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

for Councillor Chris Heath absence: Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Victoria Irvine

Councillor Victoria Irvine Councillor Lynn Pratt Councillor Neil Prestidge

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive

Ian Davies, Director of Community and Environment Martin Henry, Director of Resources / Section 151 Officer Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer

James Doble, Democratic and Elections Manager

18 **Declarations of Interest**

Members declared interests with regard to the following agenda items:

10. Chairman's Allowance.

Councillor Colin Clarke, Disclosable Pecuniary Interest, as Chairman of Council for the municipal year for 2012/13 and therefroe a potential recipient of the Chairman's allowance should the payment of one be agreed.

Councillor Lawrie Stratford, Conflict, as Vice-Chairman of Council for 2012/13, which by convention becomes Chairman the following year. Whilst this did not provide a conflict currently, due to the potential conflict Councillor Stratford confirmed he would remain in the meeting but would abstain from voting.

19 **Communications**

The Chairman reported that it was his sad duty to advise Members that David Maxwell Turner former County and District Councillor and father of Councillor Nicholas Turner had passed away yesterday. Council observed a period of silence in memory of former Councillor David Turner.

Councillor Wood, Leader of Council and Councillor Cartledge, Leader of the Opposition both paid tribute to David Maxwell Turner.

20 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

21 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

22 Minutes of Council

The minutes of the meeting held on 16 May 2012 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

23 Minutes

a) Minutes of the Executive, Lead Member Decisions and Executive Decisions made under Special Urgency

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting of the Executive and Lead Member decisions as set out in the Minute Book be received and that it be noted that since the last meeting of Council, there had been no decisions that were subject to the special urgency provisions of the Constitution.

b) Minutes of Committees

Resolved

That the minutes of Committees as set out in the Minute Book be received.

24 Questions

a) Written Questions

There were no written questions.

b) Questions to the Leader of the Council

Questions were asked and answers received on the following issues:

Maternity facilities at the Horton Hospital: Councillor Cartledge

Flood Insurance and DEFRA: Councillor Cartlegde

Olympic Torch Relay in the Cherwell District: Councillor Turner

Member Champions: Councillor Macnamara

Roll out of Brighter Futures across district: Councillor Macnamara

Council Tax Benefit Reforms: Councillor Beere

Council newspapers: Councillor Dhesi

Housing under occupation: Councillor Woodcock Congratulating Sir Tony Baldry: Councillor Mallon

Bicester Town Centre Redevelopment: Councillor Hughes

RAF Bicester: Councillor Sames

Public amenity tip Bicester area: Councillor Sibley Free School Upper Heyford: Councillor Sibley Orchard Way Development: Councillor Cartledge Free School Upper Heyford: Councillor Macnamara

c) Questions to Committee Chairmen on the minutes

There were no questions to Committee Chairman on the minutes of meetings.

25 **Motions**

There were no motions.

26 Chairman's Allowance

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report which sought to consideration of the recommendations of the Resources and Performance Scrutiny Board in relation to the proposal to pay an allowance to the Chairman of Cherwell District Council.

It was agreed that standing orders be waived for the duration of this agenda item to allow the Head of Law and Governance to provide clarification on allowances and the validity of a proposed amendment.

In the course of debate views both for and against the proposal were expressed, however it was noted that the proposals had been given detailed consideration by the Resources and Performance Scrutiny Board and had cross party support.

Resolved

- (1) That an allowance of £2000 be paid to the Chairman of the Council with effect from the municipal year 2012/13.
- (2) That the Resources and Performance Scrutiny Board recommendations detailed below be agreed:
 - (1) That an allowance of £2000 be paid to the Chairman of Cherwell District Council for the municipal year 2012/13 with immediate effect
 - (2) That the scheme of reference for the Chairman's allowance (annex to the minutes, as set out in the minute book) be adopted.
 - (3) That officers be requested to review the Chairman's budget operating period so that it is aligned with the municipal year as opposed to the financial year.

27 Ratification of Standards Arrangements

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report to enable Council to ensure compliance with the Localism Act 2011 by ratifying the code of conduct previously adopted at the May 2012 Council meeting. The report also sought confirmation of the arrangements for the handling of complaints alleging misconduct by District, Town and Parish Councillors that had been prepared by the Head of Law and Governance pursuant to delegated authority previously granted.

Resolved

- (1) That the arrangements for dealing with complaints of Councillor misconduct (annex to the minutes as set out in the minute book) be approved.
- (2) That the adoption of the code of conduct (annex to the minutes as set out in the minute book) previously resolved at the May 2012 Council meeting be approved.
- (3) That the intention of the Head of Law and Governance to bring a report to the October meeting of Council to seek approval to the appointment of two independent persons to the Standards Committee and possible revisions to the adopted code of conduct be noted.

Chairman:	
Date:	

The meeting ended at 7.50 pm